#### **RETREAT PARTICIPANTS 2013**



First row, left to right: Melinda Merrill, Danny Anderson, Joe Steinmetz, Steve Warren, Mabel Rice.

Second row, left to right: Mary Lee Hummert, Glenn Horton-Smith, Kimberly Kirkpatrick, Rodolfo Torres, Regina Werum, Evelyn Haaheim.

Third row, left to right: Deb Teeter, Gary Allen, Sara Rosen, Mike O'Brien.

Fourth row, left to right: Arun Somani, Amit Chakrabarti, Matt Schuette, Mardy Eimers, Susan Kemper, Michael Zeleny.

Retreat photo by Brett Hampton Photography

#### **RETREAT PARTICIPANTS 2013**

## **Keynote Speaker**

Joseph E. Steinmetz, PhD

Senior Executive Vice President and Provost, The Ohio State University

## **Iowa State University**

Arun K. Somani, PhD, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor

## **Kansas State University**

Amit Chakrabarti, PhD, Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering

Glenn Horton-Smith, PhD, Associate Professor of Physics

Kimberly Kirkpatrick, PhD, Professor of Psychological Services

# The University of Kansas

Danny Anderson, PhD, Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

**Mabel L. Rice, PhD,** Fred & Virginia Merrill Distinguished Professor of Advanced Studies; Director of the Merrill Center

Mary Lee Hummert, PhD, Vice Provost for Faculty Development

Susan Kemper, PhD, Roberts Distinguished Professor of Psychology

Sara Rosen, PhD, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Deb Teeter, University Director, Office of Institutional Research and Planning

Rodolfo Torres, PhD, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research & Graduate Studies

Steven Warren, PhD, Vice Chancellor for Research & Graduate Studies

#### **University of Kansas Medical Center**

Douglas Girod, MD, F.A.C.S, Executive Vice Chancellor, KU School of Medicine

Matthew Schuette, PhD, Principal Research Analyst

#### University of Missouri

Gary K. Allen, PhD, Vice President for Information Technology

Mardy Eimers, PhD, Director, Institutional Research and Quality Improvement

Mike O'Brien, PhD, Dean, College of Arts and Science

#### **University of Nebraska-Lincoln**

Regina Werum, PhD, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research

Michael J. Zeleny, PhD, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research

#### **Other Participants**

Melinda Merrill, Executive Director, Estes Institute

# **Notes**

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University's programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.