

standing, left to right: Ron Trewyn, Jon Josserand, Lisa Freeman, David Shulenburger, Prem Paul, Jim Bloedel, Meredith Hay, George Wilson, Bob Woody, Jim Roberts, Susan Sheridan, Robert Brown, Keith Yehle, Joy Simpson

seated, left to right: Barbara Atkinson, Steve Warren, Kim Wilcox, Jon Wefald, Harvey Perlman, Mary Sue Coleman, Robert Hemenway, Mabel Rice, Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, Robert Barnhill, Dick Schiefelbusch

conference photo by Earl Richardson

CONFERENCE PARTICIPANTS

2004

Keynote Speaker

Mary Sue Coleman, Ph.D., President, University of Michigan

Iowa State University of Science and Technology

James R. Bloedel, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research

Robert C. Brown, Ph.D., Professor and Director, Office of Biorenewables Programs

Kansas State University

Lisa Freeman, DVM, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pharmacology, Veterinary Medicine, and Director of Mentored Training

Ron W. Trewyn, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, and President, KSU Research Foundation

Jon Wefald, University President

University of Kansas

Barbara Atkinson, M.D., Executive Dean, School of Medicine, and incoming Executive Vice Chancellor – KU Medical Center

Robert E. Barnhill, Ph.D., Past President and Senior Scholar, KU Center for Research, and member of the Merrill Board

Robert Hemenway, Ph.D., Chancellor

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, Ph.D., Senior Vice Provost and Merrill Board member

Mabel L. Rice, Ph.D., The Fred and Virginia Merrill Professor of Advanced Studies and Director of the Merrill Center

James Roberts, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and President, KU Center for Research

Richard Schiefelbusch, Ph.D., Director Emeritus of the Life Span Institute and the Merrill Center, and member of the Merrill Board

David E. Shulenburger, Ph.D., Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost of the Lawrence campus

Joy Simpson, M.A., Program Administrator of the Merrill Center

Steven F. Warren, Ph.D., Director, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, and member of the Merrill Board

Kim A. Wilcox, Ph.D., Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Merrill Board member

George Wilson, Ph.D., Higuchi Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, and Associate Vice Provost for Research

University of Missouri

Meredith Hay, Ph.D., Professor and Assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Missouri-system

University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Prem S. Paul, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies

Harvey Perlman, J.D., Chancellor

Susan M. Sheridan, Ph.D., Willa Cather Professor and Professor of Educational Psychology, and Director, Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools

Other Participants

Jon Josserand, Assistant for Governmental Relations, University of Kansas Robert Woody, KU Counsel in Washington, D.C. Keith Yehle, Legislative Director, Office of Senator Pat Roberts