CONFERENCE PARTICIPANTS 2002

Keynote Speaker

Martin Apple, Ph.D., President and CEO, Council of Scientific Society Presidents

Iowa State University of Science and Technology

Mark R. Ackermann, Ph.D., Professor and J.G. Salsbury Endowed Chair, Department of Veterinary Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine

James R. Bloedel, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and Advanced Studies and Dean of the Graduate College

Catherine E. Woteki, Ph.D., Dean, College of Agriculture

Kansas State University

James A. Guikema, Ph.D., Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Research and Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Curtis Kastner, Ph.D., Professor of Animal Science and Industry, and Director, Food Science Institute

Denis M. Medeiros, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Department of Human Nutrition

University of Kansas

Robert E. Barnhill, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research and Public Service and President, KU Center for Research, and member of the Merrill Board

Jerome E. Dobson, Ph.D., Research Professor, Kansas Applied Remote Sensing Program, Kansas Biological Survey

Donald F. Hagen, M.D., Executive Vice Chancellor, Medical Center (KUMC) Jon Josserand, Legislative Liaison

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, Ph.D., Senior Vice Provost and Merrill Board Janet Murguia, J.D., Executive Vice Chancellor for University Relations

- Mabel L. Rice, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor and Director of the Merrill Center
- Richard Schiefelbusch, Ph.D., Director Emeritus of the Life Span Institute and the Merrill Center, and member of the Merrill Board
- David E. Shulenburger, Ph.D., Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost of the Lawrence campus

Joy Simpson, Program Administrator of the Merrill Center

Eric Vernberg, Ph.D., Professor of Clinical Child Psychology

Steven F. Warren, Ph.D., Director, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, and member of the Merrill Board

University of Nebraska

 Steven Hinrichs, M.D., Professor, Department of Pathology and Microbiology and Director, Nebraska Public Health Lab, Nebraska Medical Center
Michael Meagher, Ph.D., Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director, Biological Process Development Facility, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Prem Paul, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Thomas H. Rosenguist, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research, Nebraska Medical

Center in Omaha

Kansas Board of Regents

Kim Wilcox, Ph.D., President and CEO

Other Participants

David Kensinger, Chief of Staff to Senator Sam Brownback Keith Yehle, Legislative Director, Office of Senator Pat Roberts Robert Woody, KU Counsel in Washington, D.C.