## Welcome to the Neuromuscular Study Group 25th Annual Scientific Meeting

## Richard J. Barohn, MD

Chair, Neuromuscular Study Group Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs & Hugh E. and Sarah D. Stephenson Dean, School of Medicine, University of Missouri

## Michael G. Hanna, MD

Co-chair, Neuromuscular Study Group Director, University College London Institute of Neurology

As we gather for this landmark occasion, we celebrate 25 years of remarkable achievements, groundbreaking research, and invaluable collaboration in the field of neuromuscular science. This milestone event marks a quarter-century of our collective efforts to advance understanding, treatment, and care for neuromuscular disorders.

Our journey has been extraordinary, and the success of past meetings, especially the record-breaking gathering in Orlando last year, is a testament to the strength and dedication of our community. With over 245 attendees and 141 submitted abstracts, last year's event was a vibrant exchange of ideas and innovations, reinforcing our commitment to driving progress in the field.

This year's meeting, chaired by Dr. Michael Hehir, promises to build on that legacy with an exciting and diverse program. We are honored to bring together leading experts, researchers, and practitioners from around the globe to explore the latest scientific discoveries and technological advancements shaping the future of neuromuscular research.

Key highlights of this year's conference include:

Shark Tank Session: Now in its 6th event, this session will feature four innovative proposals, with the winner receiving a \$10,000 grant to support their study. Last year's winner will also present updates on their funded proposals, offering insights into the progress and impact of their research.

Neuromuscular Research 2-Year Fellowship Program: We are proud to continue our partnership with the American Brain Foundation to fund this vital program. Our current fellow Natalie Katz, M.D., will present her research.

Young Investigator Session: Thanks to the hard work of this year's planning committee, this session will provide an engaging and supportive environment for emerging researchers, coordinators and evaluators to mentor and connect with established leaders in the field.

We are delighted to welcome increased industry involvement from both Europe and the U.S., with many new sponsors joining us this year. We extend our sincere gratitude to our sponsors for their support and encourage attendees to visit their tables and explore their abstracts in the poster session. All accepted abstracts are published in the current issue of the RRNMF Neuromuscular Journal, the official Journal of the NMSG.

As co-chairs of the Neuromuscular Study Group, we express our deepest appreciation to Dr. Michael Hehir and the entire planning committee for their dedication and hard work in organizing this exceptional meeting. We also thank each presenter and participant for their invaluable contributions, which make our conference a success.

Thank you for being a part of this historic anniversary meeting. We look forward to a productive and inspiring conference that will shape the future of neuromuscular science for the next 25 years and beyond.